From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help counting pulses in analogue waveform

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm a fairly experienced LabVIEW/Teststand developer, but I'm not very good at signals like these. I mostly work with digital electronics, and automated tests. I'm using LabVIEW 2020.

I'm writing a VI, which uses a cDAQ 9205 connected to a microphone, which is placed directly above a PCBA which has a buzzer. That buzzer buzzes 5 times when something fails during the test, and at the end of the test, it will buzz 10 times if everything passes.

I want that VI to be able to give me a count of the buzzes. I've been able to get a very nice analogue waveform out of it, but counting peaks using native VI's hasn't worked for me.

NB: This will run asychronously in TestStand, but I don't need help with that, I just need help counting the peaks. Once I got that sorted out, I will be able to continue from there.

Here, I listen for 3 seconds, at 20kHz. The buzzer beeps twice, and I get a very nice time domain waveform. See below.

image.png

However, if I zoom in on the waveform, it's not a square wave. It swings. So built-in peak counting VI's yield massive overcount. I want this example to give me a count of exactly 2, instead I have hundreds.

image.png

I was wondering if anybody could give me advice on how to do this. I was thinking, like I said, either some debounce feature, or some analogue-to-digital translation, which gives me a nice way to count the peaks. I've tried various analogue filter VI's, and the problem is not resolved.

I've tried to be thorough in my post, please let me know if some information is missing.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,017 Views)