From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPS Synchronization and External Clock

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everybody,

my task is to synchronize my PXI system to the GPS timebase and after that use an atomic clock (10 MHz output signal) as external CLK IN. After the first synchronization to the GPS. the GPS signal may not be available anymore, however its very important that the time base in the device does not drift significantly. For hardware there is a PXI chassis with 6682H module for GPS reception and 5653/5603/5622 combination for the measurement data acquisition available.

As I am quite new to Labview and the PXI system, it would be very kind if someone could give me some comment on the solution I have thought about and help me solve the problems I still have.

The idea would be to have to atomic clock connected to all CLK INs of the PXI at all time. For the GPS synchronization I would use the "niSync Set Time Reference" function to first set the board clock to GPS. After the self testing (the device is not being moved during the GPS sync) I would like to stop using the GPS.

After that the external atomic clock. should be used as fro the calculation of the frequency increments and determination of the relative time. I suppose if I set back the Reference time to free running, it would still use the last calculated frequency increments derived from GPS?

Is there any other solution than to set the time reference to PPS? Problem is, I only have a 10 MHz signal available.

Thank you very much for any help

Message 1 of 10
(5,254 Views)

Hi NicS,