LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filter sine with square envelope

Hi!

I have generated a sine signal with square envelope (signal for echolocation). My task is to add White Gaussian Noise, which I already did and then to filter the noise. 

How can I filter the noise with this kind of signal? I tried Bandpass IIR, but it does not completely filter the signal.

Here are signal parameters:

Sine frequency: 5kHz

Square signal period: 0,2 s. 

Below signal in time domain and the spectrum without the noise:

sig_in_time.PNGspectrum.PNG

Below signal in time domain and the spectrum with gaussian noise:

sig_in_time_noise.PNGspectrum_noise.PNG

Thank you in advance! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,763 Views)

Who said you can filter out that noise?

If the frequencies of that noise overlap the frequencies your interested in, you can't filter it out without filtering the signal out.

If you're interested in the 5 kHz signal, I think (I'm no RF expert) you can multiply the signal with e^-iwt (or something like that, I can look it up, I've done it before) to get only that exact frequency. But that block wave will introduce every frequency in the spectrum, so it might show on the output. Also, that noise might contain 5 kHz data, that will also show.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,712 Views)