LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting Data to Excel From While Loop

Hey Guys,

So I have a while Loop that is collecting data from a myRIO and running it through some formulas. There are 5 Analog voltage signals in all. What I would like to do is pass this data onto a spreadsheet in 6 columns. The first column being the time and the other 5 being the signals. What would be the best way to do this? Can I just build an array out of the 5 signals and the time and print that to a spreadsheet? I am pretty new to labview so thanks for your help.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,047 Views)

How fast do you want to write your data? For lots of data it is better to accumulate data in memory and write it to file once, rather than write to file many times.

Do you need an Excel file? Then you want to use the Report Generation Toolkit. If you just want a generic spreadsheet, then "Write Delimited Spreadsheet" should do.

Give it a try and if it doesn't do what you want, post your code here and explain what isn't working.

Message 2 of 11
(4,026 Views)

I can't get the program to write to spreadsheet vi to work. It is currently giving me an error number 7: it can't find the file. I would like the program to create the file each time and the user to name it and place it in a folder of their choosing. Can I use the create file function with the write to spreadsheet function? 

I can't upload the vi. Or a picture because it is on a secured network. 

Thanks for the help!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,007 Views)

Ideally it would be able to record at 100hz. Currently the write to spreadsheet file is inside the while loop.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(4,006 Views)

100Hz is pretty fast to write to a file, I would put it after your loop and see if that works.

Error 7 sounds like you are not feeding it a valid path.