cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating and manipulating an instance of a class or object

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there, 

As will probably be immediately obvious from the subject and attached project, I am new to Labview and OOP. 

The ultimate aim of the program I am tasked with creating requires me to control different channels of different instruments and perform measurements. The number of possible instruments and channels means using classes to pass data between I/O VIs seems the most useful solution. 

I can do most of the nitty gritty I/O work, but am falling at the first hurdle when it comes to Classes and Objects. 

My understanding is that I can create a class containing all of the variables I might need for a given channel, and then create an object for each specific channel, and populate those with the relevant data. 

Attached is the most basic attempt to this end. A program which creates a class of one numeric indicator. 

I then "Create two objects of this class" (I am almost certain this is where the issue is, and I suspect looks overwhelmingly stupid to anyone who knows what they are doing).

Using the sub VIs associated with the class, I then try to change the data within Object 1, without affecting object 2.

This seems like such a simple step that no tutorials/Labview Help articles/forums cover it. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,496 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Stefis84

There is no reason for that local variable to be there - just wire the test class object into the subvi. The reason the you are seeing the broken wire is that the local variable is of of type 'LabVIEW Object', and not your Test Class - even though the run time instance of the class is of the test class, LabVIEW has no way of knowing this at edit time, so the wire is broken.