From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using ivi driver for keithley 2410 on visual c#

Hello, im pretty new to controlling instruments. I've been struggling with using the ivi driver found here for the keithley 2410 on visual c#, i already installed a driver for the agilent 34401 and used itsuccesfully, but i cannot add a reference for the keithley 2410 on c#, i'm sure i followed the steps for the installation, but no COM is shown when i try to add a reference.

What am i doing wrong? do i have to do something else? or i just cannot use the driver with c#.

What other alternatives can i use to control my instrument,? thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,129 Views)
You should really be asking Keithley but I'm guessing the driver is IVI-C.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,122 Views)
Ah OK, thanks a lot, so thats the problem. By doing some research i also conclude the same.

And what national instruments-alternatives or technologies could i use to communicate with it?

Any help is very welcome, thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(6,115 Views)
I'm not sure what is the best way to use an IVI-C driver with c#. Perhaps there are procedures at ivifoundation.org?

Note: I just tried to go there but the connection timed out.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(6,110 Views)

Hi Nelson,

National Instruments offers many ways to establish the connection with third party instruments. One of the most common is to download directly the Instrument driver of your device, this will add an API in Labview with which you will be able to control the instrument.

Here is an explanation of the different Instrument drivers available.

What is an Instrument Driver?
http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4803/en/