Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIB with Java

Hi! I would like to use NI's GPIB cards in a Java program, which is not supported
by NI. Is there any library etc. which makes the functions in gpib-32.dll
available for programming in Java? This should work e.g. with J/Direct, but
since I'm a beginner to Java I would like to find a solution that already
works.

Thanks, Till
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(16,235 Views)
I also need to use NI's GPIB cards in a Java program, which is not supported
by NI. Is there any library etc. which makes the functions in gpib-32.dll
available for programming in Java?

Pls advise and email me at wei-leong.ee@amd.com or merlion_78@hotmail.com

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(15,957 Views)

Hi,

As you know, Java is not supported by NI, but here is a KnowledgeBase that describes where to start. I wish I had a better answer for you.

Regards,

Missy S.
Project Engineer
RoviSys
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(15,922 Views)
At one point I created enough of a wrapper using the Java Native Interface just to see if I could do it.  I was able to perform a simple Read and Write using NI-VISA, but in my mind it would be easier just to use another programming language.

As there a particular reason you have to use Java?

-tuba
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(15,890 Views)
This is a great topic.

Java offers some compelling advantages - true OO language, great portability, code re-use, free development tools, great class library, etc.  Some big players are putting effort into the Real Time Specification for Java (RTSJ) which puts Java into the test system solution space. 

I think it would be way cool if NI provided Java bindings for their libraries - what could it hurt?  But - Java is a language specification, a compiler, a development framework, and a runtime system - and NI sells this (except for the C language spec) as their development product (CVI).