FieldPoint Family

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fp1000 and tempscan

hi all,
      i am new to this forum. could anyone please tell me how to use fp1000 network module and omega omb-tempscan1000 hardware with labview to measure temperature using t-type thermocouples? i am totally new to using labview.  i will appreciate any tutorial links.

i am using fp-1000(network module), fp-tc-120(i/o module) and fp-tb-3(terminal base) for that.

kunal
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,643 Views)
Hello Kunal,
I am afraid there isn't a quick answer to your question, that I know of. I am not familiar with the omega tempscan, but I am assuming it communicates over RS-485? You can use the fp-1000 to act as a bridge between  RS-232 on your computer and RS-485 communication to other Fieldpoint modules. You might need to call NI regarding the compatiability with third party hardware, like the Omega.
Having the TC-120 module seems a little redundant, as this is the device that would typically accept the thermocouple wires to make the measurments - but you would be doing this with the Omega tempscan right?
can you give us a little more idea of how you want this device connected, and what functions you are looking for?

-Mellobuck

Data Science Automation

CTA, CLA, CLED
SHAZAM!
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,636 Views)

hi
  FP-TC-120 is the IO module and FP-TB-3 is the terminal base (thermocouple connections). the io module is installed on to the terminal base. now these two are connected to the network module FP-1000.  this network module communicates with the computer via RS232  nine pin cable. 

is it that labview will detect the hardware once i connect it to the PC?
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,631 Views)

The Omega tempscan (I saw it on the Omega website as OMB-TEMPSCAN-1100)  is its own data acquisition system.

So are you going to connect the thermocouples to the TC-120 and read them by way of the the FP-1000 network module?