From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

FieldPoint Family

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fieldpoint serial port communication?

Hi,

I am a researcher from School of Biotechnology, Dublin City University, Ireland. I have been using Labview programming (version 8.2) for bioprocess monitor and control. I am using Fieldpoint (FP2010) module for data acquistion and control.  I've connected analog outputs from various controllers to appropriate channels and found data acquistion working fine using respective VI's. We have few instrument outputs which are need to be connected through serial interface on filedpoint's serial port. We are using  a multiplexer (B & B electronics) for channeling all serial outputs (of instruments) to serial port of Filedpoint. VI's developed for all serial interface of multiplexer ports  found working (data logging ok!) , when it is connected directly to COM1 port of PC. But when multiplexer serial interface is connected to serial port of Fieldpoint, the data values fails to log on the PC. Ethernet cable is used for interfacing filedpoint with PC. It seems the PC recognises COM1 port for serial interface but not serial port of Field point.

We have a driver software for multiplexer, where we already configured all serial input and output ports as required. How to configure PC to serial port present in Filedpoint instead of it using COM1?

I tried playing with MAX configuration as wells device manager of PC, but system couldn't recognise serial port of filed point.

kindly provide me a solution.

Thanks

Regards,

Senthil

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(12,528 Views)

Senthil,