Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wiring a quadrature encoder

Hi,

I am trying to use a quadrature encoder to measure the speed of a motor. I have a cRIO 9072, NI 9401, and following encoder: http://lgrws01.grayhill.com/web/images/ProductImages/Opt_Encoder_63R.pdf

I am new to all these equipment. So first of all I am trying to find out how to wire everthing together. I have read the tutorial on the NI website about quadrature encoders. But it doesn't really talk about wiring everything together. So here are my questions: 

1: What does NC, COM stand for. What should I be connecting to the NC and COM pins.

2: I am guessing I will have to use 2 channels like DIO1 and DIO2 to read the encoder data (i.e.output A and output B). Is that correct.

3.  The encoder also requires a 5V source. Can I somehow use cRIO for this or do I have to use someother external power source.

4. There are 5 pins on the encoder viz Output A, B, 5V power, Ground and No contact. I am thinking the NC goes no contact and COM goes to Ground. The question here is if I will be using 2 channels on the 9401 do I have to connect NC and COM for both channels to the  pins on the encoder. Or once will suffice.

5. Once I have everthing is connected, I have to exampe to work on the programing for it. But I am not sure how to get velocity from the encoders. None of the tutorials mention velocity, they all talk about only the position.

Please excuse me for such basic questions. But I am not familiar with electronics

Thank you

Sid

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,365 Views)

Hi Sid,

1.  NC = no connection, COM = common (a common reference for ground)

2.  Absolutely

3.  You're not going to be able to get a good power source out of the module (see the specs for current you can source), so go ahead and look for an external supply.