Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow I/O in mx vs. traditional NI-DAQ

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this.  But here's my situation.  Our hardware guys came up with a pretty slick method for using the Digital I/O lines on the E series cards that basically expanded the 8 lines into a 16 bit addressing scheme (via bit blasting and writing/reading nibbles at a time -- very cool).  An important part of this scheme is that we need to change the In/Out direction on several of the lines in rapid succession.  (The lines serve double duty for setting addresses then reading data back in.)  This worked great under the Traditional NI-DAQ driver model.  We are planning on switching to M series cards, so the first step was to start using the mx driver model.  I am using C++.

I'm still new to the mx driver model, so there may be something I'm missing.  What I did was set up eight tasks, one for each digital I/O line (we need to individually access each one as they serve as latches, clocks, etc).  I did manage to get it working (there was a stumbling block when we realized the inputs switched from pull-ups to pull-downs on the M series).  But it takes up WAY more CPU time than the traditional method.  Using traditional NI-DAQ, I can blast through everything I need to do in less than five milliseconds.  With the mx driver model, it takes about 275ms.  This causes noticeable hiccups in the rest of my program.