Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need automatic timestamp collumn, collumn headers, and title in tabdelineate file

Specifics:

Simply, I am creating 8 collumns of data from a 8 channels on a DAQ and saving them to a tab delineated transposed file.  I need to creat a preceding 9th collumn that is contains timestamps of every row.  I also need to creat collumn headers and a title above the collumns.  I wasn't sure how to search for this, but from what I did search, I couldn't find anything.  If there is something that explains this well, please let me know.  I am just learning this program for my internship and need to learn it very fast to get up to speed with the group.

Thank you!

Braden

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,999 Views)

Hi Braden,

Thanks for the post and I hope your well today.

When using a DAQ you should be able to acquire a waveform. The wavefrom data type includes timing and the data.  Then you could just include as another signal for when you write to the file. Have you got any example code you could post? - I would like to know more about how your saving to file to help answer your question.

However, some links:

How Do I Include a Time Stamp in a File Using the Write To Measurement File.vi

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/68806B93A21355E98625726F0064822B?OpenDocument

Writes time stamp and headers as a comment into the file. 

Hope this helps, and I look forward to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards
James Hillman
Applications Engineer 2008 to 2009 National Instruments UK & Ireland
Loughborough University UK - 2006 to 2011
Remember Kudos those who help! 😉
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,995 Views)

Unfortunately...

My experiment is hooked up to a computer that doesn't have internet, and this computer in my office doesn't have LabView.  It's all very sensible!  So, I can't view the file in that link.  Could you email it to me?  How can I send you my file?

Braden

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,990 Views)