Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI PCI-6512 (64 Source Outputs) how to get 30 VDC out

Hi,

I'm completely new to control applications, and trying to find my feet rapidly. However, I seem to have stumbled at the first hurdle.

I have a PCI-6512 (64 Source Outputs) card, and am wanting to power 3 actuated pressure valves - each requiring ~15-30 VDC. Using MAX I've tried to generate any signal I can, but have so far come up with nothing. I've selected digital output (port or line), and chosen a channel to send the signal from, but as I get nothing from the screw terminals I guess I'm doing something wrong, or going about this in completely the wrong way. I also have a PCI-6220 card, where this process does work, but as I need the higher voltage signal, this is not ideal, and I assume is not the type of signal I want to generate.

Would i be correct in thinking that for the higher voltage outputs, TTL is not what I want to use?

I presume I've missed something really obvious here, and just need some basic advice from an experienced user! All advice happily received!

Thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,158 Views)
Hi!

Hope you are doing well! Did you provide the appropriate power to the Vcc? Have a look at page 6 of the Specifications manual and Page 4-5 of the User Manual.
NI 651x User Manual
NI 651x Specifications

If that still doesn't work or is something you have tried, let us know as to how you have setup your hardware.
Adnan Zafar
Certified LabVIEW Architect
Coleman Technologies
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,134 Views)
Many thanks for your response Adnan, hopefully you can provide a little more help(!)

I'm having a lot of trouble trying to decide where to connect the external power supply to the board (SCB-100), mostly because I want to be sure it's the right place in case I break it!

The manual says: