Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Encoder connections with cDAQ 9401

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm hoping some of the experts here can help me out with this one as I'm new to encoders. I want to make sure I connect this right but am finding conflicting info on it. I found this tutorial, which shed some light on some things for meIf I am interpreting it correctly, the 9401 card I'm using (with 9172 chassis) can provide the 5 VDC excitation necessary for the encoder on any unused DO line. However, I saw a reply from an NI applications engineer that suggests an external supply is necessary in this thread.

So, my first question is whether or not I need an external supply.

Second, I have an encoder with 8 wires and am a bit unsure of whether I need to connect all of them for my angular position measurement, as I don't see any reference to A', B', Z' in the documentation I've found. Here is the data sheet for the encoder I am using, in line driver configuration (I believe it is x2).

I've also attached an image of the pin-outs and counter configuration for this encoder for anyone that doesn't want to search the entire data sheet.

Thanks very much in advance to anyone that can help!

Message Edited by JohnnyF on 03-31-2009 09:46 AM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,502 Views)
I hate to reply to my own post but it's not letting me edit it again. It seems from setting up a DO task in MAX and checking with a multimeter that I can't actually generate 5V with a logic high command so that takes care of my first question. I'd still be all ears if someone could enlighten me on the wiring, though.
Message Edited by JohnnyF on 03-31-2009 02:56 PM
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(7,473 Views)

Hi Johnny,