Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ Output Timing Control

Hello. I am trying to control a solenoid with a relay (the USB 6008 output is being used to activate the relay). The problem I am having is that I only want to output 5V for a few milliseconds. What is the best way to approach this? I have very little experience with timing as you can see. Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,019 Views)
With the 6008, you don't have many options. You can simply use a DAQmx set to output a true followed by a Time Delay function followed by a DAQmx Write set to output a false. Your timing is going to experience some significant amout of jitter because a windows os is not deterministic and the pc's millisecond timer is imprecise.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,012 Views)
Yeah that makes sense. I just have one problem attempting to wire that. I cannot use the false output for the DAQ Assistant because that is multiple channels and a single task. How would you approach that? Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,997 Views)
For one, I would never use the DAQ Assistant. A single DAQmx Read set for Digital Boolean 1Line 1Point is all you need. If you reallywant to use a DAQ Assistant and have configured it for a single line, take your Boolean and wire it to a Build Array function and the output of that goes into the DAQ Assistant or just place an array constant on the block diagram. The same is true if you have multiple channels.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,994 Views)

When I attempt to wire it that way I get a connection error saying that there is an array element conflict and that I've connected a 1D array of Dynamic Data to a sink of Dynamic Data. Could you take a quick look at a short code I've written? Above 0.4 V is the voltage I am looking for, and it takes 5V to activate the relay. It is in LabVIEW 8.6. Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(3,972 Views)