DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nesting Obtain Request Event Inside Multiple SubVIs of a State Machine

Hello, 

I'm new to DQMH and currently have the DQMH State Machine set up inside my start test MHL. This works great however I have a SubVI that will go inside one of the states and has a two minute wait. 

I decided to also have this SubVI register for events so every time it loops (500 ms) it can check if an event was sent to abort/exit. Thus, having a nest of obtain requests three levels in (MHL --> State Machine VI --> 2 min wait VI). 

My question is, am I following best practices by doing this or should I be doing something else? Also, if this is okay how far can this nest go?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,632 Views)

Most DQMH developers solve this use case by implementing the state machine in a Helper Loop instead of the MHL. Here's the DQMH Help topic on Helper Loops:

https://documentation.dqmh.org/dqmh/7.0/AddHelperLooptoDQMHModule.html

Note that the tooling for adding a Helper Loop to a module was added in DQMH 7.0, which just released.

Message 2 of 7
(3,621 Views)

Okay I see, but this will still lead to my nesting issue for SubVIs within the state machine who may take too long to finish before receiving an exit/abort event. This isn't going to be every state/SubVI just two or three.

I do have two helper loops set up already for power supply monitoring and load monitoring. I will take your suggestion and make another helper loop for the state machine.

Thank you to the DQMH team for making that a feature it has helped me a lot as a beginner, I am using DQMH 7.0.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,616 Views)

If you have 3 helper loops, you may want to consider whether the power supply and load monitoring loops can be turned into their own DQMH module.

With regards to the state machine, you can monitor the stop event within each state to catch the exit/abort early rather than waiting.