DIAdem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Position from acceleration data in DIAdem

I'm working on a project where I'm measuring the acceleration of a piece of equipment in our plant using 3 single axis accelerometers. I have 2 of them measuring the X axis (to detect when it is swaying from side to side) and one measuring the Z axis (to show when the equipment is moving up and down). I'm trying to use DIAdem to analyze the data, and I've run into a problem when I integrate the raw data to get posisition. Here's a screenshot of what I'm experiencing:

Acceleration vs Velocity vs Position.PNG

The top channel is the acceleration from one of the X axis sensors, the middle is the 1st integration, and the bottom is the 2nd. I would expect the veloctiy curve to look similar to the acceleration curve, but out of phase by 90 degrees. The position curve should also have a similar shape. What am I missing here? I'm new to using DIAdem to analyze data, so any help is appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,035 Views)

How are you running the calculations to determine your second and third graphs? Could you post the equations you are using to produce these?

Rob S
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(6,010 Views)

I'm actually just using the Integrate function from the Basic Mathematics menu in the Analysis tab. Then I do a second integration on the results channel of the first. I think I may be missing an offset correction or something...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(6,006 Views)

Hi dzehner2,

What are you using as the X channel in the integration dialog?

Brad Turpin

DIAdem Product Support Engineer

National Instruments

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(5,999 Views)

That could be the issue... I'm just using the blank time channel from the accelerometers. Should I generate a time channel in DIAdem?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(5,985 Views)

Hey dzehner2,