Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logitech C270 severely slowing down myRio VI

Hello, I am new to LabVIEW and myRIO programming, and i want to be able to stream video from myRIO with my Logitech C270 webcam with colors and at least 320x240px 15fps quality in LabVIEW. I made a simple program for streaming a video (snippet below) in LabVIEW with NI-IMAQ (I also have Vision Acquisition), but the frame rate is very slow and it's slowing down the VI, although I've set the camera in NI-MAX to 320x240px 15fps YUY2 before that. Decreasing the resolution further doesn't seem to make any noticable difference. But in NI-MAX even with higher resolution the video gives a very acceptable frame rate, so it lags in LabVIEW but not in NI-MAX.

I have another myRIO program for robotics control, when I run it and open the camera in NI-MAX at the same time, the robot program doesn't delay and the video in NI-MAX is still in very good frame rate. How do I stream video in LabVIEW with better frame rate and not slowing down the VI?

Specs:
myRIO 1900
Logitech C270
LabVIEW 2019 32-bit

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,699 Views)

When you acquire images with IMAQdx, at (say) 320x240 at 15 fps, then you are getting the camera to send data at a rate of 4.6 MB, /s to be displayed.  On a PC, this is easy for the display to handle.  But the myRIO doesn't have a "Front Panel" nor a Display Processor, so it has to send this Byte Traffic to the PC at some rate.  How are you handling the streaming of this Video data to the PC?  Once it is in the PC, of course, you can display it on your Main VI's Front Panel and the PC's Display processor will make all those Pixels light up.

As I recall, the myRIO USB port is rated at 480 Mbps, or about 48 MB/s, which is on the order of 10 images/second.  I think that this transfer rate may be your rate-limiting step.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(1,646 Views)