Student Projects

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

myLaserHarp: Music with strings of light!

myLaserHarp: Music with strings of light!

Lasers are awesome! Music is too! Using NI myRIO, I managed to combine the two to create myLaserHarp. When playing this novel electronic instrument, your fingers break parallel beams of light to create musical notes and scales. As if that wasn’t enough, using Solenoids and MIDI files, I also taught myLaserHarp to play itself!

Who am I?

My name is Adam Metcalf and I am currently a Mechanical Engineering student at the University of Leeds. Whilst on an Industrial placement at National Instruments I was given the opportunity to spend a week working on an intern project. The result of this is myLaserHarp.

Why did I choose this project? As a Mechanical Engineer I have limited experience with electronics, so I was keen to get to grips with the fundamentals. myLaserHarp uses a light detection circuit to determine when a laser beam has been broken (and thus the 'string' is 'plucked'). I also have no musical talent whatsoever, so it was important that I included a way for the instrument to play itself Smiley Wink

myLaserHarp:

myLaserHarp has an array of 12 lasers set opposite an array of light dependant resistors which are part of a 'dark sensing' circuit. When the laser is blocked, the 'dark sensing' circuit sends a signal to the myRIO, which generates a square wave of a frequency corresponding to the correct note. This square wave is played through a speaker, which comes out as a note sounding delightfully 8-bit in nature. myLaserHarp can be played by simply intercepting the lasers with your fingers ('plucking the strings'), or you can upload a MIDI file to the myRIO. The myRIO will read the MIDI file and actuate solenoids, which pop-out and block the lasers, thus 'plucking the string'.

Figure 1 shows myLaserHarp after the build was completed:

Figure 1.PNG