Wireless Sensor Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using NI-4431 to find the distance of an aboject

Good evening Everyone. I have a problem. I'm currently a student and i'm  doing a project on sonar devices. I'm currently performing a project where I will have a remote control boat in a tub. My partner has built a devicethat could send a signal pusle underwater. This signal pulse will reflect off the boat and hit a hydrophone I have connected to  USB NI-4431. I will in display this signal, Filter all of the noise componets out of the signal, then I am to write a lab view program that determines the distance from the  the sonar to the Hydrophone in which I have the USB NI 4431. Also I am to determine the velcotiy of the object as well. I have all ready written a program that determines distance but I dont think that it is right. I have to take into account the many signal refections from the air -water interface as well as  the reflections from the bottom of the tank. I have an idea of how to do this  but I would like to ask what fucntions in labview can I use to calualte the distance of this obeject to the Hydrophone know ing that there may be many refections from the Sonar to the Hydrophone.. this is the file I have so far , but it is not correct. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(7,260 Views)

Hello, Tunmac!

First, are you working with the Sound and Vibration Toolkit? In terms of what you can use in LabVIEW to analyze your noisy signal, the best solutions lie in the "Sound and Vibration Toolkkit." This contains functions specifically developed for analyzing and processing sound signals.

If your question is about what functions in LabVIEW will allow you to apply various filters to your data, you're already successfully located the Filter Express VI, which is a useful tool.