From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Unit Testing Group

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AST Unit Tester on NI Tools Network

Hello,

I have been playing around with my own unit tester for a few years and NI has accepted it to be on the LabVIEW tools network.

AST Unit Tester

This is a very basic unit tester.  I made it mostly for myself because I didn't like the existing Unit test tools out there.  My unit tester is meant to be fast and very easy to use.

Thanks

Dan Shangraw, P.E.

Message 1 of 15
(5,194 Views)

I checked it out.  Very nice Dan! 

Question: Is there any way to run the tests programmatically? 

Sam Taggart
CLA, CPI, CTD, LabVIEW Champion
DQMH Trusted Advisor
Read about my thoughts on Software Development at sasworkshops.com/blog
GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(5,144 Views)

@ASTDan wrote:

This is a very basic unit tester.  I made it mostly for myself because I didn't like the existing Unit test tools out there.  My unit tester is meant to be fast and very easy to use.

Hi Dan,

can you elaborate on what exactly you didn't like about the other tools? As I can see the main idea is that your tool detects test files based on "AST_Unit_Test" hashtags and these VIs can talk to AST via a result Boolean and an error outputs. I don't yet see why this cannot be covered by other unit testing tools available for LabVIEW.

By the way, I tried AST and I found the following bugs or I used it in an unintended manner:

• Failed to add new test via GUI (see first screenshot).
  • Variant error message while executing newly created unit test from template (second screenshot).

Best,

Peter

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(5,120 Views)

Hello Peter,