USRP Software Radio

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Work with ethernet interface USRP-RIO in real time.

Hello,

I'm new in the world of USRP and I have some doubts about his potential...

Is it possible to work with ethernet ports (SFP+1Gb/10Gb) with a valid network IP for tx/rx in the internet or any information in real time, with a proprietary network interface?

My intention is to use this ethernet interface (USRP-RIO) linked in the proprietary network as a package listener for transmition in an air interface to another USRP.

Has anyone done this?

Thank you... best regards!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,455 Views)

NickC_BR,

I don't understand your question. What do you mean by "proprietary network interface"? Do you mean a standard CAT5 ethernet interface, or somethhing completely different? What do you mean by "real time"? The USRP RIO does not run a RTOS, so it is inheriently non real-time in a technical sense, but it runs "live" in a non-deterministic enivronment, so it may meet your requirements. 

Maybe a better way to ask for clarification is this: what are you worried about the USRP RIO not being able to do? 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,413 Views)

Hi muffin.vi,

Thanks for answer!

My doubt is about the possibility of use the ethernet port for communication with UDP as a independent component in network. So the computer (LabVIEW Comm.) must play a minimum role... Somewhat as picture...

IMG_20160301_095105366.jpg

Again, thanks for attention... best regards!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,372 Views)

NickC_BR,

I'm still having trouble understanding the problem. Is the problem that you do not want to use LV Comms? Or that you want communication from computers in Lan A to Lan B? Or that ethernet won't be fast enough? Or something else?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(4,364 Views)