From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

USRP Software Radio

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calculate BER between two USRP RIOs

I'm PhD Student I have not much experience about USRPs. I'm new at this research area.

We have two USRP 2943R. We have NI Labview 2014 , including Modulation Toolkit,USRP intrument drivers.

We  tried NI Labview 2014 niUSRP- Labview Modulation Toolkit Examples. We used two USRP, one of them transmitter another is receiver. We understood niUSRP EX PSK Tx.vi and   niUSRP EX PSK Rx.vi examples. We runned this Vis simultaneously. But I wonder that how could we calculate bit error rate while , two simultaneous vi are runnig.

I know that MT Calculate BER .vi function block, where we should  connect this block on  niUSRP EX PSK Rx.vi . Should we have to synchronize to USRP R for calculate correct BER. Is it possible? We cannot find examples about USRP that calculate BER.

Could you help us please?

Best Regards..
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,402 Views)

Hi,

You may find this example on DPSK helpful as it calculates BER in a fashion that you might be looking for: http://www.ni.com/example/30126/en/

As well, you can look up some more information on usage of the Modulation Toolkit's BER VIs with this help page (even though its targeted for LabVIEW Comms, it has a similar implementation in regular LabVIEW): http://www.ni.com/documentation/en/labview-comms/1.0/mt-node-ref/mt-calculate-ber/

Regards,

John Gentile

Applications Engineering

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,356 Views)

Thanks for your reply

These examples are concerned about simulation.  Where do I find BER  Examples that use USRPs

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(4,323 Views)