USRP Software Radio

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Additional filtering of the complex baseband signal

I suppose this is more of a DSP question rather than the USRP hardware itself...but still quite relevant, so I'll give it a go.

In this widely linked to example (https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-25716), the authors simultaneously measure the signal of interest, and a 'local reference'.  They do this by placing each signal at an IF relative to the center frequency of the USRP, and then using bandpass filters to isolate each signal in order to the proceed with calculating relative phase.

Using the VI's under the Signal Processing->Filters pallate...I started playing around with filters and observing what the filtered spectrum looks like.  I selected the input type as "Complex Double" (presumably, under the code interface node, the VI is filtering the I and Q components seperately, and then recombining after filtering).  I observe that the filtering is symmetric around the center frequency.  i.e. a BPF from 200kHz to 300kHz also BPFs from -200kHz to -300kHz.  I suppose this makes sense....but raises a fundamental question:

Can I design a filter that operates on complex data that doesn't exhibit this symmetry?  Or am I fighting Math/Physics?

If not...this would seem to suggest in the above example, that the signal of interest and local reference calibration signal are located at different IF's from the center frequency in order to resolve this issue.  I tried to verify this myself by looking at the MUSIC code...to see exactly where their filters are centered...but I am unable to click into and expand the Matlab code blocks (do these become clickable only if you have Matlab installed)?

Hoping someone can give some advices as to how this simultaneous capture and subsequent filtering is actually carried out.  Thanks!

---

BC

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,346 Views)

cochenob,