UI Interest Group Documents

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 8 Style UI demo

I finally had time this afternoon to post a back burner project I've been working on on and off (mostly off) for a couple of months.  Some things are still rough around the edges but rather than wait for it to be perfect I figured I'd put it out there just in case someone finds it useful.  Hopefully I'll find time to continue to work on it.

My goal was to create an application in LabVIEW that looks and feels like a Windows 8 style application.  I also hoped to build such an application on top of the Actor Framework in such a way that others could use some of my base classes in their applications. 

The code is attached - unzip and run "Launcher.vi" in the Win8uiDemo folder. [LabVIEW 2012 - I'm relying on Actor Framework (I used 4.1 but it should work with 4.0) so I don't plan to back-save to any previous versions.]

Quick Video Demo

Win8uiFramework quasi-UML Class Diagram

Win8uiFramework.png

Win8uiDemo quasi-UML Class Diagram

Win8uiDemo.png

Comments
Thoric
Trusted Enthusiast Trusted Enthusiast
Trusted Enthusiast
on

That's astonishing! I can't wait to get my proverbial teeth into this!

Well done sir!

Thoric (CLA, CLED, CTD and LabVIEW Champion)

pallen
Active Participant
Active Participant
on

The video is really impressive.  Can't wait to check out the code. 

---------------------
Patrick Allen: FunctionalityUnlimited.ca
battler.
Active Participant
Active Participant
on

Code is broken for me.  Using LV 2012 on Win 7 64.

Active Participant
Active Participant
on

Do you care to elaborate? Won't compile? Missing dependencies? Incorrect behavior? Errors getting thrown?

Not applicable
on

I ran the Launcher.vi from C:\Users\David\Desktop\Working\Simons Windows 8 UI Demo\Win8uiDemo and got the following missing dependency:

Actor Framework Debug.png

Opening the LabVIEW Project shows the following files as missing:

Win 8 Project.png