From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

UI Interest Group Blog

Community Browser
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Resizable UI’s in LabVIEW

GrahamB

Introduction

Often as I open new software and the user interface pops up, I make a few typical clicks around, and I can almost immediately recognize it as a LabVIEW application. It’s funny how as a LabVIEW developer, I can recognize just from a user interface alone and some minor interaction that it has been written in LabVIEW. In the past, I found this true with other development platforms; although this is no longer as obvious. So, what is one of the things that made me suspicious of it being written in LabVIEW besides my familiarity with the common controls/indicators?

The screen would not resize.

It seems that generally speaking there is an opinion that in LabVIEW it just isn’t easy or worthwhile to design a nicely laid out, resizable UI. There aren’t very many good examples or documentation available, but it is really quite simple to accomplish. Resizable UI’s give a great feel to clients and give your software added professionalism at very little cost to developers. There is one caveat to this though, it should be considered up front at design time. Completing software without this in mind and trying to convert a UI to become resizable is typically a nightmare and should be avoided when possible. This is most especially true with complex UIs.

So, how is it done?

(After reading this please check out my follow up blog: Advanced Resizable UIs: Multicolumn Listboxes)

Planning