From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Signal Generators

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How generate single low-active pulse with NI-PXI 5402?

Hi,

I need to generate a single pulse (see attachment) using NI PXI-5402 signal generator. Pulse needs to start from 4.2V and for 50ms it is 0V and then back to 4.2V. How to do that?

Here is one example for sine waveform
http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/CDA05D7EF7B92E43862573770083798B

So I need to generate 16384 samples long waveform? How to define it in this case (50 ms low etc)?

Regards,
Jick

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,334 Views)

Hi Jick.

I'm no expert in function generators, but I have a couple of things in mind.

As I see it, I think we have two options.

1) Use a Frequency List

Example: Hardware Input and Outpur => Modular Instruments => NI-FGEN => Standard Function Generation => Fgen Sweep Generator.vi

2) Create your own waveform using primitive LabVIEW functions, and input that to the FGEN.

Example: Hardware Input and Outpur => Modular Instruments => NI-FGEN => Configuration => Fgen Clock Mode.vi

I hope you can use this.

Best Regards

Alex E. Munkhaus
Certified LabVIEW Developer (CLD)
System Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(7,308 Views)

Is the single pulse periodic?

Jason L

Product Support Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(7,301 Views)

If it is not, try this example. 

I setup for the following settings to make this work: