Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to amplify the input signal using LabVIEW 8.6?

1) With the input voltage say 0.1mV through DAQ into the LabView, can anyone tell me how to design a circuit in LabVIEW 8.6 to amplify the input signal.

2) When i applied 0.1mV, there were noise signals in the LabVIEW Oscilloscope. Can you tell me also about the noise reduction circuit for the above voltage?

Message 1 of 15
(10,831 Views)

So it really depends what you are trying to do....

For amplification, if you want to use plot something, you can just multiply all of your measurements by a scalar (say 10).

I'm not an expert on SNR with NI scope,but I've used LV filters before to eliminate unwanted signal/noise.

Hope this help,

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(10,826 Views)

Of course a scalar multiplication by software is NOT the same as amplyfing a signal. When using software multiplication of signal strength you do not increase resolution and s/n ratio. You may see your signal expanded to the full bit range of the DAQ but of course resolution is determined by the analog input range of the DAQ. 

Usually DAQs do not use any kind of noise reduction, since the designer of the DAQ does not know which signal will be connected to the DAQ and which frequency range is needed by the user. If you have a signal with low output impedance (and proper wiring, of course) there will be little noise on the input.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(10,820 Views)

Hi Manjukb15,

1. May I know which model of DAQ that you are using? Some DAQ allows you to define the expected signal range into the DAQ (+/-1V or 2V or 5V or 10V, etc - based on the specification of the DAQ device). With NI DAQ device, in DAQmx Configure Acquisition, you can define this input range and DAQmx driver will automatically amplified the input signal to maximize the resolution of the ADC in the DAQ device.