Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCC-A10 For Simple Voltage Measurement

Hi

I have a NO laser proximity sensor (can be changed to NC) that has a supply voltage of 24V. If I wish to measure the output, which swings between 23.3V and 0V, would the SCC-A10 be a viable module to use? I require a somewhat fast sample rate (sensor has a switching frequency of 1.1kHz and a response time of 455us), but I only require in the 100s of Hz.

As well, as the output of the sensor is only one wire, would I have to connect the neutral of its power supply to the ground of the module? The power supply does not have a ground.

Anything else I should know?

Any help is greatly appreciated, as I am no expert when it comes to electronics.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,705 Views)

The SCC-A10 should be fine, but it does not perform any acquisition, so you will still need something like a DAQ card.

You will be wiring measurement to a grounded signal source. The power supply should have a ground or negative terminal, any signal will require at least two connections so you can complete the circuit. You can attach it as a differential or NRSE, but if you wire between the two systems' ground then you may cause a grounding loop. With the SCC-A10 you can probably use differential mode. We have a very in depth description of wiring here.

- Regards,

Beutlich
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(6,672 Views)

Thank you for the reply, was fearing I was going to be left to my own devices (and probably destroying them).

I have a laptop DAQ card, the 6036E to be specific. And the SC-2345 obviously.

That is quite the description of wiring. Am I correct if I connect the output of the sensor to the positive input of the module, and leave the negative empty, it will reference it to the ground of the SC-2345? I do not need a very specific voltage measurement, I am only looking for a change from open to closed and back again (really fast).