Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Load Cell to NI-9237

Hello,

I am fairly new to data acquisition in general and LabView. I have a CompactDAQ Chassis connected to a laptop with an NI-9237 Strain/Bridge Card slotted in. The card has RJ50 front connectors with screw terminal adapters. I am wiring a THC-3K load cell to the system and getting a noisy signal in LabView. I have connected the AI+ and AI- terminals to the Signal+ and Signal- wires of the load cell, and the Excitation+ and Excitation- to the corresponding load cell wires (10V internal excitation) in following with the DAQ Assistant connection diagram.

The NI-9237 manual that came with the card showed some wires (the remote sensing wires in particular) jumpered to other terminals. Do I need to jumper any of the other terminals? The load cell also has a shield wire. Where should I connect this wire?

I have also configured the scale in the DAQ Assistant according to the vendor spec sheet that came with the load cell and performed a calibration through the Assistant. The capacity of the load cell is 3000 lbs, but I only had weights up to 40 lbs to use during my calibration. Would this have a big impact on accuracy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,766 Views)

Hi KJM23, 

My first recommendation here would be to follow the steps described in this tutorial, to make sure you are ok in the connection side of things. You may also want to consider the output response for your loadcell and make sure it fits your needs in terms of accuracy considering the error response and the input range of +-25mV/V.

The remote sensing terminals are optional and can be added to your bridge in order to diminish the gain error like you said the details about this are listed in the manual.

Hope that you can find this information useful! 

Regards,

Sil.VI
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(5,737 Views)

I agree with Sil.VI