Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finding Force, Acceleration, and Velocity from Position signal

Hello all,

I am working in a lab to test the effect of on Impulse on cartilage samples. I have a drop tower and I am going to drop a weight from a certain height onto the samples.

I currently have a laser position sensor set up to take position measurements from 60 mm to 40 mm away from the laser (this is where the collision will happen).  I am getting relatively good readings for the position sensor, but there is a little noise from the measurements that makes the velocity and acceleration calculcations inaccurate.  I tried to apply a median filter to the position data to smooth out the signal.  I am going to test this later today but I wanted to know if anyone had any other input.  From the acceleration data, I am going to determine the force vs. time on the cartilage sample.

I am new to labview and am open to all ideas.  I do not have much experience with signal processing.  See VI attached.

Thank you a lot,

Michael

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,582 Views)

I don't know the bandwidth of your sensor, but here are my thougths on it:

- go with a triggered aquisition, take a look at the shipped examples

-use a higher samplerate, and read values as a block, not as single values

-If you have access to it, take a look at the sound and vibration suite

- to get velocity and acceleration from distance values I prefer to use a Savitzky-Golay filter (it's more noise robust)  here I posted  a vi to do it.

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1

“ground” is a convenient fantasy

'˙˙˙˙uıɐƃɐ lɐıp puɐ °06 ǝuoɥd ɹnoʎ uɹnʇ ǝsɐǝld 'ʎɹɐuıƃɐɯı sı pǝlɐıp ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ɹǝqɯnu ǝɥʇ'

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,555 Views)

Thanks for the response.

The sensor is a Micro-Epsilon ILD 2201-20 Laser Position Sensor.  The bandwidth is 10kHz.