Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sbrio-9631 noob question

I started doing some volunteer research with a professor of mine after I graduated undergrad, but not a grad student.. yet.. (bad undergrad grades)... We all know how absolutely horrid it is for new grads, let alone starting a career in this economy. Well.... He threw me this sbRIO-9631 board, and told me to learn it. His lab works on some high energy particle detection, and I'm starting from absolute scratch to build up some DAQ for some environmental and position, and etc. sensors to go along with the photomultiplier tubes (coincidence/ADC/data logging) that will eventually come into the mix..

I've messed with labview in my undergrad days, and I've done a little bit with old CAMAC controllers with GPIB interfacing. So it isn't total greek to me, but GPIB is incredibly simple at the same time..

I'm just trying to get some basic questions answered to get moving, and then fumble through it, then ask more questions, and then repeat. I've looked through the tutorials and they are primitive at best, and are beneath my knowledge level. I've also looked at the classes, and they are astronomical in price. I just graduated college with 52 grand in loans, I don't got 1500 bucks lying around for a labview course, let alone 2 labview courses!

The NI Single-board RIO hands on session is so-so, but doesn't really tap much, and the user guide for the 9631 just tells me boat loads of specs. Where is the giant tome of text that will be a guiding reference for the somewhat minimal experience level that I possess????