Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to measure differential DC voltage across a resistor using SCB68, NI PCI-6221 and LABview 8

Hi, I am new at using LABview and DAQ card. I have a SCB68 I/O and NI PCI-6221 (16-Bit, 250 kS/s, 16 Analog Inputs). I am using LABview 8.0.

I am trying to measure a differential DC voltage across a resistor. The value of the voltage should be around 0.10V to 0.30V.  My main objective is to acquire the change in the differential voltage and the range should be around the above said values.

I have the resistor connected the resistor in series with a power supply and I am trying to measure the drop in voltage across the resistor.

I have the input to a DAQ channel from across the resistor. I tried using the DAQasst but I am getting a strange erroneous value which is around 2.4V always. But if I try to measure the output of a DC power supply by connecting the ends of the supply to a DAQ channel, I get the right values.

Could anyone please let me know what kind of connections need to be made to the SCB and also the VI to measure a differential DC volatge across the resistor( it is a floating source).

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(7,230 Views)

Hello Techtrial,

I see that you are using a PCI-6221 with SCB-68 and programming in LabVIEW 8.0. In your application you are measuring a differential voltage.

To troubleshoot this particular issue, I would first start with the program Measurement and Automation Explorer. You can find by clicking on Start>>All Programs>>National Instruments>>Measurement and Automation Explorer (MAX). By using MAX you can eliminate the programming side of the issue. MAX allows you to configure and test your hardware before you involve the programming environment.