Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

compactRIO, FPGA, RTOS

Hi, I've never worked with cRIO before, and I need to make a program that has an user interface, controls the temperature of a hothouse, turns it on and off and shows data from the hothouse on the interface.

I don't know if I need to program the FPGA and the RTOS in order to do that, or if I can program only de RTOS.

In that case, I don't know which labview mode is the best to use (Real-time, scan or FPGA). Neither the best way to communicate (message, current value or stream).

Also, which design pattern is best for this applicantion?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,699 Views)

Dealing with thermocouplers, I doubt we are dealing with anything faster than 10ms/sample.  Therefore, use the  scan engine mode for your cRIO.

A simple control loop and an HMI communication loop should be all you will need here with the RT system.

I would use Network Streams to send the data back to your user interface computer for logging purposes.

If you want a good night's sleep, go and start reading the NI LabVIEW for CompactRIO Developer's Guide.  There is a ton a really good information in there.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,682 Views)

It's not only one thermocouple. Actually there are 28 hothouses with four thermocouples each. They have different times to start and stop acquiring. There are anyway I can communicate directly with the thermocouple?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(4,676 Views)