Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cRIO data logging help needed

All, 

This may seem like a really simple problem, but I'm new to Labview (used it ~10yrs ago) and am trying determine the best and easiest way to complete a data logging project.  Part of my problem may be I have extensive experience with dSpace and Matlab XPCTarget!

Most examples I have found are either much too complicated OR do data logging over TCP-IP.  Here is my "simple" setup/problem:

-take ~12channels of data from a 9205 module at 250Hz

-save the data to either a 9802 or a USB drive

-time stamp the data

-noncontinuous connection with a laptop (I want to start the logging application, disconnect the ethernet, then reconnect to stop the logging and then ftp the data) 

I am using a cRIO 9024 with a 9205 input module.

I modified an example that will take the data, but it does not log (having issues with that, too) and stops working once communication is lost (9205IO attached).

There is another program that I modified based on an in-vehicle data logger, but requires communication with a laptop also (and is much more complicated than what I believe is necessary) (cred_iv_1.1.zip attached).

I would be OK with using the simple scan engine (I know I can't use the 9802, though) if I could also be certain I could drop the communication link and still have data acquiring.

Thanks for your help in advance...

Michael 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(7,096 Views)

Hey Michael,

Check out page 50 of the cRIO dev guide:

http://www.ni.com/compactriodevguide/

It shows how to build an embedded logging task with scan mode.

Kurt 

Message 2 of 10
(7,077 Views)

mjc2010,

Your cRIO datalogging system should continue to log data if you disconnect the ethernet cable unless:

1.) You have the "Halt system if TCP/IP fails" checkbox checked in MAX. This makes your program stop if TCP/IP communication fails.