From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cRIO Gxxx - GSM_Init.vi time out error

Hello,

I am a student in Mechanical Engineering at the Free University of Brussels. For my Masterthesis I have to program a compactRIO controller to collect measurement data from an electric vehicle.

I want to use the cRIO Gxxx Mobile Module from S.E.A. to send the measurement data wirelessly from the cRIO over the GSM network to a host computer.

The GPS functionality of the module works fine, I was able to run the Example VI's almost instantaneously.

However, for the GSM Example VI's I always get the same error, caused by the GSM_Init subVI. It says "GSM Response to 'AT+ICF=1' timed out!".

error.jpg

I used several SIM cards from different operators in Belgium (BASEProximus, MobileVikings) which all support GPRS functionality.

Please respond quickly.

Thanks in advance.

Marco

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,001 Views)

Hello Marco,

my name is Philipp and I am the product support engineer for our cRIO modules. Please contact me via philipp.noertersheuser@sea-gmbh.com to solve this issue.

Yours sincerely

Philipp Noertersheusert

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,956 Views)

Hello,

This error arose because there was no external power supply connected to the Gxxx module itself. For usage of the GSM functionality of the Gxxx module, an external power supply to the provided connector is necessary, as described in the hardware manual.

Thanks to philipp.n for helping me solve this issue.

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(6,875 Views)

Hello to all,