Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up 2-wire RS-485 communication on a cRIO-9068 base COM port

I have a similar post in the Instrument Control board outlining this problem, but I want to be more specific on the cRIO side of the issue as I think the problem may pertain to the configuration of the port, which would be a CRIO-specific function. I am attempting to create a communication link between a cRIO-9068's onboard (COM3) RS-485 port and a slave flow meter device, an Endress+Hauser Coriolis meter, which I've validated through a separate diagnostic tool as having Slave address 247 / 19200 / even parity. My development system is LV2K15 SP1 on Win7Pro SP1. 

I have configured a few MODBus slave devices in the past with the cRIO-9068, and I can't seem to get this one working with the usual run-through. This is my first time utilizing COM3, the on-board serial port designated as RS-485. I am using I/O Server to create a MB.lvlib library that I use to create a range of 300000/400000-series addresses to read from. I then deploy this to my CompactRIO controller (Scan Mode configuration). The only thing I can get to seemingly indicate new values or change noticeably in realtime are the CommFail boolean (always on) and the Updating boolean (intermittent on/off). 

I have consulted this link on setting up 2-Wire (Half-Duplex) communications with the RS-485 port and am complying with it.

I have consulted this link on RS485 termination, and am using a 109-ohm termination resistor on each end, though it is not a multi-node drop bus, just end to end.