cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sampling channels at different rates from an analog module

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am completely new to cRIO and I am about to make a purchase but I cannot understand a how the sampling rate is defined for the different modules.

I understand that the sampling rate is generally defined as the total sampling rate of the module unless differently specified. Therefore my questions are

1. When I am performing data acquisition, is the sampling rate always partitioned between all the channels or only the active ones? (E.g. If I have an 8ch with 800kS/s and using only 4 channels, can I acquire at 200kS/s or still at 100kS/s at most?)
  2. Can I decide the sampling rate for each channel?(E.g. can I acquire 1 channel at 730kS/s and the remaining ones at 10kS/s?)

Thanks very much for your help (and for putting up with my ignorance)!

Matteo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,588 Views)

Hi there!

The sampling rate for different modules depends on whether you are using Scan Interface or FPGA mode for that module, the kind of module you are using, and how you read from it.

1. Scan Interface: When using Scan Interface programming mode, you are basically bypassing having to program on the FPGA of the cRIO. In this mode you set a scan period for the Real-time system to scan all channels for all of your modules and get an updated sample. In this mode you are limited to sample rates of 1 kHz or lower.
  2. When using the module in FPGA mode, the sample rate will depend on the kind of module:
  • Some C Series modules use on-demand sampling, meaning that a sample is taken when you read from the module using an IO node. You control the sample rate by controlling the rate of the loop in which you are reading the IO node.