From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Photon Count on LabVIEW FPGA

Hello, 

I am new to LabVIEW and FPGAs, and I have a assignment where I need to do photon counter on LabVEIW to collect counts from APDs. In my lab, I have a NI USB-7856R Module. I would appreciate any initial guidance or ideas since I am very new. I visited/read several LabVIEW forums about FPGAs, but I didn't learn much of them. 

Thanks, 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,544 Views)

I'm not sure you actually need an FPGA. It sounds like a regular multifunction DAQ device would work and would probably be a little easier to develop. Still, if that's all you have, maybe start here? http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371599N-01/lvfpgahelp/fpga_getting_started/

Do you have your signal conditioning well defined? If your signals are coming in really fast you might be able to connect it to a digital input and just detect transitions from false to true or vice versa. Otherwise, if it's slow enough, you can probably just set a threshold voltage and count how many times the voltage goes over or below that threshold.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,518 Views)

Thank you for your reply! 

I know the signal is a TTL pulse where I am required to pick it up on my Module (NI USB-7856R). I have attached a vi that is clearly wrong and missing things, but I gave it a shot. 

I am still new to this, but I know that I will have to use this LabVIEW FPGA Module that will be connected to APDs to pick up signals (1 for signal, 0 for nothing).

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(4,502 Views)

Actually you look like you aren't too far off. You need to maintain a count on the FPGA which should look like this code:

FPGA Event Counter.png