From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID Output Range

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

Can anyone please explain me how to use output range function in the PID.vi. 

I am very new to control system 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(8,137 Views)

Is there something in the documentation that's unclear?

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361L-01/lvpid/pid_vi/

You just set it to what you want the max and min you want from the output. Like, if you wired output to a typical AO, you'd put -10 and 10 in there because your analog output can't output more than ±10V.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(8,111 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author thendral123

It is important that the output range set within the PID block maps onto the range limits found in - a) any saturations in the software that may act on the output signal, b) the max / min signal range of the IO module the output passes to, c) the max/min range of the actuator in the control loop. It is needed since it prevents the integrating action of the controller taking its output beyond what the system can deliver - which if not prevented can give rise to instability in a control loop (called "integral windup").

Consultant Control Engineer
www-isc-ltd.com
Message 3 of 5
(8,105 Views)

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your time. I understood the effect of the output range.

Please check my overall understanding regarding PID and correct me if am wrong.

PID output u(t) is sum of  {\displaystyle u(t)=K_{\text{p}}e(t)+K_{\text{i}}\int _{0}^{t}e(t)\,dt+K_{\text{d}}{\frac {de(t)}{dt}},}