From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID Control in Quanser Controls Board + NI ELVIS III

Hi,

I am new to LabView. I tried example LabView VI's from the courseware provided by Quanser for Quanser Controls Board + NI ELVIS III board and the DC motor speed and position can be controlled. However, when I increase the proportional gain (kp) of the PID controller, the overshoot of the response decreases and rise time increases. This contradicts with common understanding of the effect of kp in PID Control theory. Would you please shed me some light on how to correct this?

Many Thanks.

Best Regards,

wkfung

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,631 Views)

Yes  - usually when you increase Kp the overshoot increases and response gets faster, but not always.

1. If you have a high order system and a PID controller you can get some counterituitive responses - BUT THIS IS QUITE UNUSUAL. It is best observed by looking at the poles and zeros of the closed loop system and how it changes with the changing gain (called root locus). This is more likely if the PID controller is of the parallel form (i.e. kp+ki/s+kds). It may be that you have found a region of gains where this happens, if you keep increasing or decreasing the gain you may move into a more expected effcet.

2. If the sample time is too slow that can give oscillations

3. Sometime the proportional "gain" of a PID controller is specified in an inverse way - often called  Proportional Band (PB = 100/kp) - that would give the opposite effect. But Proportional Band is usually only found on old equipment, but sometimes retained in new systems so they are backward compatible.

4. Or there could be some error ..