From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI cRIO-9004 not showing in MAX

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! This is my first time to use cRIO-9004 and having trouble already beacause the controller is not showing in MAX. Is this supposed to show under remote systems? The following entries are installed in my PC, please let me know what else I'm missing.

LV 8.5.1

NI-RIO 2.0

Thanks!

One Step At A Time, Maybe Two...
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(5,218 Views)

Additional info:

The controller is connected to PC using cat-5 crossover cable, the link/active LED are on and the status LED blinks every 2 sec or so..

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(5,210 Views)

Hi Kowdtek,

Yes, the cRIO should show up under Remote Systems.  Your Status LED indicates that the cRIO just needs to be configured in MAX (once you can see it there).  Set the DIP switches on the cRIO to turn Safe Mode and IP Reset on, then reboot the cRIO via the reset switch.  Pending any other issues, this will make your cRIO show up in MAX with IP 0.0.0.0.  For more details on how to do this, and more information in general on how to configure the cRIO, check out the manual, which you can find here.

There is also a very good Knowledge Base article concerning this I highly recommend you check it out. 

I would also like to recommend that you update your NI-RIO driver.   The current version is 3.0.

Hope this helps! 

Brian A.
National Instruments
Applications Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(5,181 Views)

Hi Brian,

NI-RIO Driver is updated to 3.0. I follow per instructions but still no luck. Can you confirm that the SW/driver I have is enough to make this work?