From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making a measurement VI for a PCI-6034E unit without the hardware

We're making a measurement VI for a partner of ours who uses a PCI-6034E DAQ unit, but we don't have the hardware (the PCI-6034E) ourselves to test out our VI.  I have never used the NI-DAQmx VIs before, although I have considerable experience with Labview-controlled Agilent DAQ units.  I'm borrowing the back-end code from the VIs we created to work with the Agilent DAQs for the 6034E data processing and saving, so all I really need is simple guide to interface and get data from the 6034E.  The next problem comes in that I need to have this written by tomorrow and I'm having difficulty finding a good resource on this topic that doesn't start talking about the Measurement and Automation software which, from what I understand, requires the hardware to be present. 

We'll be very thankful if anyone has any suggestions for guides or VI modules from the NI website which could help us make a solid VI for the PCI-6034E without the hardware during development.

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,875 Views)

Hi Nanopit,

The good news is that with our Measurement and Automation Explorer software (MAX), you can simulate devices on your computer to be used in LabVIEW. However, note that although this can help you develop your application, LabVIEW may not be able to catch all potential problems in your code. It will catch most, but not all.