Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MAX can't find cRIO-9014

Hello,

I'm new to the cRIO world, but have used R series FPGA and Compact FieldPoint systems.  I'm having trouble seeing my cRIO-9014 in MAX Remote Systems - this is new hardware from NI, haven't connected to it yet.  Windows XP (SP2) firewall is off, the HP notebook PC is connected directly to the cRIO with an NI supplied Ethernet crossover cable, I've tried restarting the cRIO with the IP Reset switch ON, and restarting MAX.  Power LED on the cRIO indicates good power supply and Status LED is flashing once every two seconds or so (cRIO not configured).

Sotfware versions in MAX 4.5.0 are: CompactRIO Module Software 3.0; LabVIEW 8.6; FPGA 8.6.0; Real-Time 8.6.0; NI-RIO 3.0.0.

Any help on this is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Al

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,873 Views)

Hi Al,

Did you access the IP properties on your laptop and set an IP and subnet mask? You need to do that otherwise it will try to access the IP address automatically when there is no server present (since it's connected by crossover cable). Also, have you tried just connecting the cRIO on the network just to be sure that nothing is wrong with the communication. Try those two options and let us know if you have any other questions.

Adnan Zafar
Certified LabVIEW Architect
Coleman Technologies
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(4,860 Views)

Al

If you are having any trouble connecting your cRIO with a crossover cable please chack the KB, it is a great step by step guide for setting everything up and configuring your IP address.

Connecting to a LabVIEW Real-Time (RT) Target with a Crossover Cable

-Hunter

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(4,848 Views)