Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating .out file using GNU Make for VxWorks

Hi

I would like to know how to compile .out files for VxWorks using GNU Make. I have found the redistributable GNU tool chain attached to the website below but I do not know how to run the setup-gcc.bat file. Could anyone tell me the steps from the beginning (extracting the files, folder directory, what things I need to change, etc)?? I am very new to this VxWorks and GNU Make. It would be good if it is a very simple detailed step by step instruction in creating .out files.

Thank you & Regards
Lee

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(8,588 Views)

Dear Lee:

Thanks for the post. The dev zone document you linked in your post is a very good document that steps you though compiling shared libraries. If you download the attachment and unzip it, the main folder has a readme.txt. In that it explains how to run the .bat file and how you need to edit the .bat file. You do this in the dos prompt by typing in
start - > cmd - > then edit the batch file. The following is the text in the readme that I am talking about.  Keep in mind that when you create the folder it is in the C drive and the folder name does not contain any spaces in there. After this you can step through the document  - http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5694#toc1

Installing the gcc redistributable
---
Unzip this zip file to a hard drive location such as c:\vxworks61gccdist. On Windows systems, a path with no spaces in it is best. For example, a path
containing "Documents and Settings" may cause errors.

In the directory supp\ underneath this, edit setup-gcc.bat to set GCCPATH
to be the same as the unzip location.

Run setup-gcc.bat in a command shell to allow the use of the gcc toolchain
and the versions of make and several GNU utils distributed with Wind River's
version of gcc.

Building and running the example code
---