Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CRIO Save to Memory

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi. I am new to Labview and CRIO. I have an application were i want to record 24 channels of data at 50K samples/sec for 2 to 3 seconds. I am able to follow this example.  http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/5919

However, i do not need to stream the data the the PC host, but rather collect it on the CRIO disk.  I have read that it seems the limitation for the disk is around 1.5 - 2MB per sec.  In my example, it would be approx 5MB/sec (50K * 24channels * 4 bytes).   So i created a VI that instead of streaming, just writes into a huge array.  Does that seem plausible?  When i collect enough samples, i will then write to disk. But, it seems that even an array at 500K seems to cause 100% processor usage.  I would use the streaming, however, i will be increasing to 48 channels shortly.  It says the cRIO has 128MB DRAM, i am assuming this is where the array would be created?  Any help is appreciated.  I can attach my code if necessary, but would just like to have some guidance.  Thanks.

CRIO 9014

Labview 8.6

6 - 9233 analog modules for data acquisition, one 9215 analog module (for trigger in)

Message Edited by Wmarchewka on 11-26-2008 10:22 AM
Message Edited by Wmarchewka on 11-26-2008 10:25 AM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(9,439 Views)

Instead of storing the data in a large array in LabVIEW I suggest that you use the host side DMA memory to store the data coming from the FPGA before writing it to the disk.This memory is allocated from the DRAM on the controller.

You can define the size of the host (RT) side DMA memory using the FPGA host interface method node DMA Configure function. Here are the basic steps:

1. Before running the FPGA acquisition, in the host VI configure the DMA buffer for the desired size (3600000 elements for 3 seconds)
  2. Start the DMA on the host side