Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1 MS/s with cRIO FPGA

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi to all. I'm pretty new with using LabView and CompactRIO system and actually this is my first post in the Forum. I tried to find out how to solve my problem but I haven't figure it out.

I'm using NI 9223 analog input module to aquire data. I have to measure 10000000 samples in 10 seconds, so that means I need to take sample on each microsecond.

I can't figure it out what is the best way to transfer the aquired data from the FPGA to my windows pc. So far I was using the FIFO to transfer data, and what I was doing was writing the aquired data to the FIFO in the FPGA VI, and then read the data from the FIFO in the Windows VI. But the amount of data was much less than the capacity of the FIFO, what is in my case 131000 elements.

Can you give me hints what would be the best way to transfer the data without loosing any sample?

Thank you very much for your help.

Kind Regards,

Nikola Todorovski

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(9,159 Views)

Hello,

What you have to use to transfer data between your FPGA and your Host at high speed are the DMAs FIFO. 

Here I send you a link where you can find all the information as well as the creation and configuration:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4534/en

That's the missing piece in your application!

Cheers

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(9,135 Views)

Another thing to keep in mind is the size of your FIFO:

If you acquire data with 1 MHz that means if you don't want to lose any data that you will need to transfer 1 million samples per second!

What do you mean by Windows PC? Is there a PC connected via Ethernet? Or are you talking about the controller on the cRIO?

A Windows host is hardly faster than 1 kHz ("deterministically" - sort of). Your FIFO therefore must be big enough to hold enough values for the PC to capture them all else the FPGA will overwrite the data.

LabVIEW 2012 32 bit