Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: OpenDocument Format

swatts
Active Participant

Hello my lovelies.

Update: Check out this tool

This article is a little bit different in that it's the beginning of a project I'm been thinking about for a little while. At the very least if I take it no further my scribblings may save someone some time.

First the why

The beauty of having open documents is that as a software developer I can make a package for disribution to my customer without worrying about licenses. This just feel much more wholesome to me. So I've looked at various options (ActiveX OpenOffice, dlls etc), but they all involve driving someone elses code. One of the reference books available is called OASIS OpenDocument Essentials and in it is this little snippet that sums up my general feeling.

When talking about storing in a propriety format rather than an open format.

Note also that your data can become inaccessible when the software vendor moves to a new internal format and stops supporting your current version. (Some people actually suggest that this is not cause for complaint since, by putting your data into the vendor’s proprietary format, the vendor has now become a co-owner of your data. This is, and I mean this in the nicest possible way, a dangerously idiotic idea.)

J. David Eisenberg

What I actually need is a way to generate a spreadsheet checklist for all the VIs in a project.

So what is the OpenDocument format.

Wikipedia sums it up thus.

The Open Document Format for Office Applications (ODF), also known as OpenDocument, is an XML-based file format for spreadsheets, charts, presentations and word processing documents. It was developed with the aim of providing an open, XML-based file format specification for office applications

Stuff I've learnt....

OD File Structure