RF Measurement Devices

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Carrier frequency measurement after resampling

Hey,

I'm not an rf expert. Is it possible to measure the carrier frequency of an ASK modulated Signal after resampling it down?

I would like to cover two frequency bands (433.2MHz & 434.64MHz). I fixed the Center frequency of the RFSA to e.g. 433.92MHz with an IQ rate of 2MS/s. Is it possible to get the carrier frequency of the signals after resampling it down to e.g. 9600 x 16Samples per Symbol?

Thanks in advance.

Regards Thomas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,676 Views)

Hello Mr. Keyser,

First of all, let me ensure that I am understanding correctly what you are doing. According to your description, you are using the RFSA API, so you are acquiring the RF signal with a Vector Signal Analyzer (VSA). If you are just interested in measuring the carrier frequencies of your ASK modulated signals, the easiest way would be using the RFSA Soft Front Panel. You just have to enter the center frequency and the span, and then you will see two peaks corresponding to the two carrier frequencies of your ASK signals, if these frequencies fall within the bandwidth of the acquired signal. This is the case for the values you gave us, since you would be acquiring a signal centred at 433.92 MHz with a bandwidth of ca. 0,8*2MS/s = 1,6 MHz. Please find under http://www.ni.com/tutorial/7786/en/ a short tutorial on how to use the RFSA Soft Front Panel. If you need to measure the frequencies programmatically, you should apply a VI which is able to calculate the spectrum of the acquired signal (e.g. the FFT Power Spectrum and PSD VI), so that you can see the peaks on the corresponding carrier frequencies.

I hope I was able to answer your question. Please let me know If you still have any questions regarding this topic.

Best regards,

Ezer Bennour

RF System Engineer

National Instruments

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(3,646 Views)