Power Electronics Development Center

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

park and inversepark transform take all the resoureces

Hey,

I'm new to Labview FPGA, and I'm using sbRIO9606 to do some experiments. I have a problem with the high throughput sin-cos function. When I use this to do a park and inverse park transformation.  It takes all the LUTS resources in FPGA as in the FPGA vi: PWM test.vi

So I tried to put the park and inverse park transformation in the RT and transfer the data back to FPGA. At first I use the direct FPGA read/write function in the RT however, it gives me some results but not right.

Then I try to use FIFO to pass values between RT and FPGA, but I cant configure them the right way.

In the project the PWM test.vi is the one I put everything in FPGA

im_communitert.vi is the vi I tried to pass the angle generated in FPGA to RT and  the rt_IMcontrol.vi is the RT host vi

Can somebody please help me out?

regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(10,861 Views)

Hi,

in abctoqd.vi you did not use high throug. function. sin and cos are implemented in double, which must be strongly avoided in FPGA. Even if the result is converted in FXP, evaluation is performed in double.

I closed a field oriented control loop on NI myRIO. Programming should be efficient, in the FPGA resources are very limited.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(8,867 Views)

thank you for the reply, is that ok that you send me the park and inverse park vi you use ?

regards

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(8,867 Views)

You can download resource efficient IP Builder versions of all of the most common transforms for power electronics here. Big thanks to NI systems engineer, Brian_K, for these!

This free, open source library includes efficient floating point (and fixed point versions) of the following transforms:

• ABC to DQ
  • DQ to ABC
  • ABC to alpha, beta (Clarke Transform)
  • alpha, beta to ABC (Inverse Clarke Transform)
  • alpha, beta to DQ (Park Transform)